Tutorial in World Equestrian Games Jumping’s Unique Format

Aug 03, 2010 1 Comment by

Show jumping is traditionally the most widely popular equestrian discipline in the general public. It’s easy to understand and exciting to watch. And I’m sure it will be no different at the upcoming World Equestrian Games.

The World Equestrian Games jumping format is one of a kind, making it one of the most exciting jumping competitions to watch. Here’s a quick tutorial on show jumping in general and more specifically how it’s going to work at WEG.

What You Need To Know About Jumping

Jumping competition is simple to understand, if not to actually do. If you get over all the obstacles, in the right order, in the fastest time, with the fewest penalties, you win.

In international Grand Prix jumping, each horse and rider team is required to complete a course of 10-13 jumps including verticals, spreads, water, walls, and double and triple combinations. They have a set time in which they need to complete the course. Riders are eliminated for going off-course (taking the jumps out of order), if their horse refuses to jump two times, or if they fall off. They incur penalties for knocking rails down on the fences or for finishing over the time limit.

typically, the winner is the horse and rider team with the fewest penalty points. If multiple pairs have clear rounds, they move to a jump off. There, if more than one pair has a clear round, the winner is the one who went clear with the fastest time. However, the World Equestrian Games is a speed format that varies a little bit from the traditional Grand Prix. It’s one of a kind!

It often pays to take risks by making shorter turns and more difficult routes that save time … but also make it more difficult to jump the fences cleanly. But that’s when it gets really exciting!

2010 World Equestrian Games Jumping Format

As with all other disciplines at WEG, there are individual and team medals for the jumping competition. The jumping competition will be held in 5 rounds. The first three count towards the individual and team championships, and the final two rounds complete the individual competition.

Jumping Team Competition

Each nation competing at WEG in jumping sends a team of 4 horse and rider combinations. All four riders on each team participate in each phase as long as they ride well enough to remain qualified. The best three scores for each round count towards the team’s overall score.

The top 10 teams (nations) will compete in the third and final round and have a chance at the medals.

Jumping Individual Competition: the Rolex Final Four

The World Equestrian Games individual jumping format is entirely unique. The field is narrowed down over four rounds and several days until we are left with the top four riders. On the final night, all the riders compete on their own horses – and then swap and ride everyone else’s too. Can you imagine getting the change to ride the best four horses in the world all in one night?

On the last night, known as the Rolex Final Four, each rider completes a jumping round on his own mount first. After all four have gone, they start swapping. They get a chance to warm-up in full view of the crowd, and then they keep going until all four riders have jumped all four horses.

Breakdown of the Jumping Rounds

Round 1: Speed Cup for Team/Individual

The first round is a little different, as it’s a speed competition also known as a Table C. Rather than going within the allotted time and incurring faults for having rails down, all rails are converted to seconds that are added to the competitors time. So, if a rider goes in 57 seconds but knocks a rail, they are given a final time of 1:01 (4 seconds added for each rail down). This means that a fast rider who has a rail could earn a better score than a horse who goes clear but has a slower time.

Round 2: Nations Cup Team/Individual

Round 2 returns to the more traditional format, where riders must complete the round within an allotted time without incurring penalties – known as Table A.

Round 3: Nations Cup Team Final

The top 10 teams will compete for medal placements using the Table A format. A jump-off will be included if there’s a tie.

Round 4: Individual

The top 25 riders after the first two rounds will get to compete for the final individual qualifying round using the Table A format,.

Round 5: Individual Final Four

The final four ride off for the gold, silver, and bronze medals.

World Equestrian Games Jumping Schedule

Dates Phase Location Ticket Price
Mon, Oct 4 Jumping Speed Team/Ind. Main Stadium $42-63
Tues, Oct 5 Jumping Team/Ind. Main Stadium $42-63
Weds, Oct 6 Jumping Team Final Main Stadium $56-77
Fri, Oct 8 Jumping Individual Main Stadium $90-120
Sat, Oct 9 Rolex Final Four Main Stadium $105-130

All About The Disciplines

2010 WEG, Equestrian Events, Featured, Show Jumping

One Response to “Tutorial in World Equestrian Games Jumping’s Unique Format”

  1. Hickstead , Dutch-born Canadian show jumping horse, Olympic champion (2008), died from a ruptured aorta he was 15 | Kterrl's Video Favorites says:

    […] riders in the Rolex Top Four Final, Hickstead was named Best Horse of the discipline.[7] Under the unique format of the Top Four Final, riders with the four highest scores throughout the competition exchange […]

Leave a Reply